Happy Mother’s Day!

She is clothed with strength and dignity;
    she can laugh at the days to come.

Proverbs 31:25

This morning I woke up to a beautiful bouquet of flowers with a card from my son written by him and his father. My little guy ran into my room and said “mommy mommy the sun is up and I drew my hand for you on a card”, so I asked where and he said  in the most excitable voice “In the KITCHEN!” He took me into the kitchen and there on the table was the greatest surprise of flowers and his amazing card with his hand print traced on the front. The card read, why I love my mother and proceeded with all the cute little things he came up with, some totally unrelated to the question because he is a 3 year old, but every one of them perfect and fitting for him. The one that hit me was “when she makes me happy” and “when she tickles me”, so I asked him, “what do I do that makes you happy?” he said “when you tickle me because we laugh together”. This answer just stole my heart.

IMG_1595

Life is simple for our little ones, they just want to see us smile and laugh because when we do they know everything is going to be okay. I read something recently that listed “mom goals” and one of them was to make sure you laugh with your kids each day. Even if its just once, make them laugh because when they do, so will you and the daunting tasks and pressures of this world will diminish. It made me think of this scripture “She can laugh at the days to come”, that is what I would like to work towards, laughing more and not worrying about the future!

She speaks with wisdom,
    and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
She watches over the affairs of her household
    and does not eat the bread of idleness.

Proverbs 31:26-27

I went into this day with no expectations, I decided that all I needed was to be able to cherish the time with my family, my children and my husband. My Mothers Day gift is my two children and my amazing husband, that is the greatest gift I could ever receive. It is the greatest gift because it came from our Heavenly Father. He gave them to me and for that I am eternally grateful. The thing about this gift is that it wasn’t earned or strived for, it was given in love and mercy. I don’t deserve them or this life I have, I am not perfect nor will I ever be, but even though I don’t deserve it, I received it because of grace from God. My greatest goal in life is to make my husband and children proud of me, that they truly feel blessed that I am their wife and mother.

Her children arise and call her blessed;
    her husband also, and he praises her:
 “Many women do noble things,
    but you surpass them all.”

Proverbs 31:28-29

I have learned through this journey of motherhood so far, that seeking perfection is futile. It will never end well and will result in me feeling like a failure. But to seek God, to seek Jesus Christ our Lord and Saviour on a daily basis, to accept I am weak because he is strong, and allow Him to grow fruit from the ashes of my failures, that is how I will become a woman of noble character who is faithful and wise. If I am to receive any praise, I want it to be in honour and glory of our Lord Jesus Christ. He has carried me through and he will do so time and again.

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
Honor her for all that her hands have done,
    and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

Proverbs 31:28-31

So Happy Mother’s Day to you all! May you all rejoice in your blessings on this day! No matter your situation, I know you will be blessed because if you are a mother you have received the greatest gift there is, your child or children, and if you aren’t a mother, I know you will be blessed because you have a mother who God used to bring you into this world and that is something worth celebrating!

May you rejoice with me in these amazing gifts from God today! God Bless!

Mom
Me and My Mom

~Escape with Love into His Everlasting Arms!

-Whit

Leave a comment